# 2023 PROGRAM 2024

**Celebrating 65 years** 

MONTREAL LAKESHORE UNIVERSITY WOMEN'S CLUB

# A member organization of

### **CFUW**

Embrace Change, Embrace Equity

**Graduate Women International** 

Montreal Lakeshore University Women's Club
CFUW
Graduate Women International www

www.mluwc.com www.cfuw.org www.graduatewomen.org

## 2023 Interest Groups 2024

Chair	Chitra Chopra
Advocacy	Mary Vlahos
	Patricia DuVal
Book Discussion I	Margaret Nicoll-Griffith
	Judy Kelley
Book Discussion II	Susan Pick Vadivel
Book Discussion III	Linda Ricketts
Book Discussion IV	Luhan Wahbeh
Breakfast Club	Franca Ferrara
Bridge - Afternoon	Lorraine Retfalvi
Bridge - Duplicate	Jane Quail
	Ginger Brossard
Coffee Club	Marianna Newkirk
	Joyce Schaaf
Dinner Club	Sally Gurekian
	Victoria Pinnell
Exploring World Cultures	Linda Sestock
French Conversation	Janet Anderson
Games	Nancy Acemian
Gourmet Group II	Renate Sutherland
Gourmet Group III	Gilda Martinello
Gourmet Group IV	Valerie Fortin
Jaunters	Chitra Chopra
Knit & Chat	Tina Tessari
Music History	Joan Dyer
Mystery Book Club	Gilda Martinello
Networking Group	Linda Sestock
	Vida Guido
"New Book" Exchange	Gilda Martinello
Outdoor Pickle Ball	Nancy Acemian
Travel (Armchair)	Joyce Schaaf
West Island Walks	Jane Cowell
Wine Appreciation I	Jeannie Hazel
Wine Appreciation II	Diane Gibb
Wine & Cheese	Nicole Larocque

# 2023 Program 2024

Date	Topic/speaker
Wednesday,	Fall Kick-Off
Sept. 6, 2023	Representing English Montrealers in Ottawa:
	Anthony Housefather MP (Jane C.P)
	Interest Groups
Monday,	An Evening of Wine
Oct. 2, 2023	Jordan Lebel
Wed Oct 25	New Members' Night (by invitation) TBD
Monday,	Are Women for Sale – La Sortie
Nov. 13, 2023	Gabrielle Barrett
Monday,	Holiday Event
Dec. 4, 2023	Lakeshore Community Choir
Jan. 15, 2024	Potluck Events (Lunches, Dinners, 5 a 7's etc)
Monday,	Finding Your Climate Why: Action for Transformative
Feb. 12, 2024	Change
(Zoom only)	André-Yanne Parent, M.Sc
Monday,	The Business of Beauty
March 11	Sara Tillman Welenius
(Zoom only)	
Monday,	Members' night
April 8, 2024	
Wednesday,	Annual General Meeting
May 15, 2024	Introduction of scholarship recipients
	Marvin Rotrand National Director, League for Human
	Rights, B'nai Brith Canada
TDD 1 1 11	· ·

TBD = to be decided.

Except where indicated, general meetings are held The Church of St. John the Baptist: 233 Ste-Claire Avenue, Pointe-Claire, QC H9S 4E3

- Schedule, general meetings: chat, 7:00 pm; meeting, 7:30 pm; speaker, 8:00 pm, evening usually ends at 9pm
- o Fund-raising events will be announced during the year.

Newsletter Deadlines: Aug 21, Sept 18, Oct 22 Nov 24, Dec 15, Jan 24, Feb 23, March 22, April 17 and Annual Report May 24

#### **EXECUTIVE**

Past President Jane Cowell President Nancy Acemian Vice-President/CFUW Liaison Mary Vlahos

Patricia DuVal

Vice-President/Membership Sabra Ledent

Treasurer Jane Hamilton-Weber

Recording Secretary, Gen. Meetings TBD

Recording Secretary, Exec. Meetings Sally Gurekian Communications & Publicity Jane Cowell

Sally Gurekian

#### **STANDING COMMITTEES**

Mary Vlahos Advocacy

Patricia DuVal

Archives Cendra Paas

**Fundraising** TBD

Hospitality Theresa Sliz

Halina Slawska

**Interest Groups** Chitra Chopra Newsletter Maria De Wolfe Linda Sestock Program

Nancy Acemian

Kathleen McGrath Scholarships Webmaster Chitra Chopra Social Media Linda Sestock Zoom Jennifer Ferguson

#### MLUWC SCHOLARSHIP FUND

Chair Gilda Martinello Treasurer Susan Pick-Vadivel

**OTHER** 

**Newsletter Distribution** Maria De Wolfe Gilda Martinello Photographers

Luhan Wahbeh

Potluck dinners Carol Newberry

Suzanne Chaussé

Zoom Jennifer Ferguson

#### **REPRESENTATIVES**

CFUW, Vice-President Quebec Linda Sestock CFUW, Regional Director - English **Judy Hopps** CFUW, Regional Director – French Frances Hudon Montreal Council of Women Maria De Wolfe

GWI/International Representative	Heather Hamilton Helen Findlay

# **PAST PRESIDENTS**

Margaret Manson +	1956-1958
Jessie Ross +	1958-1960
Marjorie Maclure +	1960-1962
Marybel Monty +	1962-1964
Mary Kyles +	1964-1966
Mary Louise Sutherland	1966-1968
Amy Williams, C.M. +	1968-1970
Alberta Shearer +	1970-1972
Dorothy Anderson +	1972-1974
Mary Alexander +	1974-1976
Donna Hughes	1976-1978
Jane McDougall	1978-1980
Marilyn Flaherty	1980-1982
Kate Le Maistre	1982-1984
Corinne Thompson +	1984-1986
Renate Sutherland	1986-1988
Sandra Smith	1988-1990
B. J. Bell	1990-1992
Judy Cardwell	1992-1994
Margaret Hamilton	1994-1996
Louise McLeod	1996
Chitra Chopra	1996-1998
Barbara Marcolin	1998-2000
Maria Cranker	2000-2002
Patricia DuVal	2002-2004
Elizabeth Semmelhaack	2004-2006
Pauline van Nieuwberg	2006-2008
Heather Hamilton	2008-2010
Chitra Chopra	2010-2012
Gilda Martinello	2012-2014
Connie Ellis	2014-2016
Linda Sestock	2017-2019
Gilda Martinello	2020
Linda Sestock	2020
Jane Cowell	2021-2023

+ deceased

## **LIFE MEMBERS**

B. J. Bell Judy Cardwell Donna Hughes Marney MacDonald Louise McLeod

## **NEW MEMBERS 2022-2023**

Pilar del Espaillat

Sonia Djevalikian

Wendy Gallagher

Diane Godin

Ann Hamilton Harris

Karen Honegger

**Evelyn Horsky** 

Laurie McCullagh

Lori Morrison

Vivianne Meslage

Sonia Serfaty

### 2023 Scholarship recipients

Amy Williams Scholarship: Awarded to Kelsey Beauchamp

Margaret Manson Scholarship: Awarded to Caitlin Miller

Alberta Shearer Scholarship: Awarded to Amandie Fernando

Discretionary Bursary awarded to Joanna Vilme, presented as the Diana Nevins memorial award.